Fans CFB

HBCU Football Players named Finalists

Four players have been named finalists for the Black College Football Player of the Year award, the Black College Football Hall of Fame (BCFHOF) announced.

The finalists are Virginia State running back Trenton Cannon, Bowie State quarterback Amir Hall, Grambling State quarterback Devante Kincade and North Carolina A&T quarterback Lamar Raynard.

The Award is presented annually to the most outstanding football player from a Historically Black College & University (HBCU) who embodies the tradition of “athletic excellence and integrity associated with HBCUs,” according to BCFHOF. Former North Carolina A&T and current Chicago Bears running back Tarik Cohen was selected as the inaugural recipient of the Award in 2016.

The winner will be announced Feb. 10, 2018 at the Ninth Annual Black College Football Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony in Atlanta, Ga. The recipient will be presented with the Deacon Jones trophy, which is named in honor of the football legend and inaugural BCFHOF inductee.

The finalists will also be recognized at the Celebration Bowl in Atlanta on Dec. 16, along with the BCFHOF Class of 2018.

Photo credit:

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top