NCFAA Announces Postseason Award Nominees

The 26th Home Depot College Football Awards will take place Thursday, December 7th at the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta. The ceremony highlights college football coaches, players and teams for their excellence on and off the field. The awards show will be televised on ESPN. Twenty-four players were selected as nominees for the nine National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) awards given annually during the ESPN Telecast. The awards and nominees are listed below.


NCFAA awards announced during The Home Depot College Football Awards:

Chuck Bednarik Award
College Defensive Player of the Year
Jonathan Allen, Alabama (Sr.)

Myles Garrett, Texas A&M (So.)

Jabrill Peppers, Michigan (Jr.)

Biletnikoff Award
Outstanding Receiver
Austin Carr, Northwestern (Jr.)

Zay Jones, East Carolina (Sr.)

Dede Westbrook, Oklahoma (RS Sr.)

Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award
Nation’s Outstanding Placekicker
Daniel Carlson, Auburn (Jr.)

Zane Gonzalez, Arizona State (Sr.)

Younghoe Koo, Georgia Southern (Sr.)

Ray Guy Award
College Punter of the Year
Michael Dickson, Texas (So.)

Cameron Johnston, Ohio State, (GS)

Mitch Wishnowsky, Utah, (So.)

Maxwell Award
College Player of the Year
Lamar Jackson, Louisville (So.)

Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma (RS Jr.)

Jabrill Peppers, Michigan (Jr.)

Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award
Nation’s Best Quarterback
Lamar Jackson, Louisville (So.)

Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma (RS Jr.)

Deshaun Watson, Clemson (Jr.)*

Outland Trophy
Nation’s Most Outstanding Interior Lineman
Pat Elflein, Ohio State (Sr.)Cody O’Connell, Washington State (RS Jr.)

Cam Robinson, Alabama

Jim Thorpe Award
Nation’s Best Defensive Back
Adoree’ Jackson, USC (Jr.)Jourdan Lewis, Michigan (Sr.)

Tre’Davious White, LSU (Sr.)

Doak Walker Award
Nation’s Premier Running Back
Dalvin Cook, Florida State (Jr.)D’Onta Foreman, Texas (Jr.)

Donnel Pumphrey, San Diego State (Sr.)

*2015 award winner

Other awards recognized during The Home Depot College Football Awards:


The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award Winner be announced on Wednesday, Dec. 8
NCFAA Contributions to College Football Award Winner to be announced on Wednesday, Nov. 30
Disney Spirit Award James Conner, Pittsburgh (RS Jr.)
William V. Campbell Trophy
Academic Success
The 12 finalists for the Campbell Trophy were announced on Tuesday, Nov. 1.
The Allstate AFCA Good Works Team Team captain will be announced on Wednesday, Nov. 23
Walter Camp All-America Team Team to be announced on Thursday, Dec. 8


Awards recognized during The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Special at 6 p.m. ET on ESPNU:

John Mackey Award
Outstanding Tight End
Jake Butt, Michigan (Sr.)

O.J. Howard, Alabama (Sr.)

Jordan Leggett, Clemson (Sr.)

Rimington Award
Outstanding Center
Finalists to be announced on Monday, Dec. 5; Winner announced live on the Red Carpet
Wuerffel Trophy
Community Service
Garrett Adcock, New Mexico (RS Sr.)

Trevor Knight, Texas A&M (Sr.)

Christian McCaffrey, Stanford (Jr.)


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top