Fan Experience

Philadelphia Eagles wins Celebration of the Year Award

The Philadelphia Eagles Electric Slide in Week 12 was voted the “CELEBRATION OF THE YEAR”.  The award was announced at the NFL Honors- a two- hour primetime awards show that aired on February 3 on NBC.

This was the first year that the NFL awarded the “Celebration of the Year” at the NFL Honors.  The Eagles’ Electric slide celebration was selected through a unique fan vote.  The NFL invited all 32 teams to submit a regular-season celebration of their choice to compete in a bracket-style voting structure that narrowed until the final four celebrations.

Emmy-award winning actor, writer, and creator KEEGAN-MICHAEL KEY hosted the Facebook Live show on Saturday, Jan. 27 during which fans voted for their favorite final four. The final voted were tallied, and the Eagles’ were the winners of the NFL’s very first “Celebration of the Year.”

Also, the Eagles came out on the field to Philadelphia native Meek Mill’s “Dreams and Nightmares” before the game on Super Bowl Sunday.   This song embodies the Eagles’ underdog status that defined their Super Bowl LII win.  The song was also played after the win in the NFC Championship. So, the Eagles do not lack in having a good celebration and being “juiced up” for a big moment.


The NFL Honors featured awards recognizing the best players, performances and plays from the 2017 season.   The show revealed the newest PRO FOOTBALL HALL OF FAME class and appearing on the stage at Northrop at the University of Minnesota.

The prestigious Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year presented by Nationwide, which recognizes a player’s off-the-field community service as well as his playing excellence, and the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award, as voted by his peers were among the awards announced on this past Saturday.

NFL Honors_ is an NFL Network production in association with Rock Garden Media.

For more information and to read about “NFL Honors” and the winners fans may visit

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top